The yen is the official currency of Japan. The official currency symbol: ¥. The currency’s name is derived from a Japanese word that means “round.”

The currency was officially established in 1871 and replaced the Tokugawa currency (a 1601 monetary system). However, the firsts coins were issued one year before, in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 50 sen and 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 yen. The ½, 1 and 2 sen were launched in 1873. Almost 100 years later, the 50 and 100 yen coins were introduced, followed by the 500 yen coin minted in 1982.

The 5 Japanese yen coin front design features a hole in the middle in the shape of a gear, an ear of rice, and the denomination superimposed to straight lines which allude to water. The reverse of coin shows the hole in the center, the country’s name, plant shoots on each side, and the issue date in the Japanese – Shōwa era Calendar. This coin is part of the 1959 – 1989 (34 – 64) series, its rim is plain, and its color is gold.